Walang alaala ang mga paru-paro / Butterflies Have No Memories, 2009, Lav Diaz

Collection on Screen:

Lav Diaz – Part 6

May 5, 2024
The outstanding director Lav Diaz has entrusted his work to the Austrian Film Museum. In 2022, we began a permanent exhibition of his work as part of Collection on Screen.
With Butterflies Have No Memories (2009), epic Filipino filmmaker Lav Diaz condenses his concerns into a hypnotic one-hour film without losing any of his novelistic depth: When a local mine closes, the unemployed residents fall into alcoholism and depression. When the daughter of one of the mine owners returns home, an act of desperation occurs. A critical picture of society as a mythologically loaded film poem. (Christoph Huber / Translation: Ted Fendt)
Related materials
For each series, films are listed in screening order.